Pinterest Challenge

It’s that time of year again! Time for another Pinterest Challenge hosted by Young House Love, Bower Power and friends. This challenge is a way to “stop-pinning-and-start-doing.”  I had big plans to work on a Christmas project or a Baby project but the weekend didn’t go as expected and then it was Monday night…  time to hit my recipe page on Pinterest.

After taking inventory of our cooking supplies I decided on this recent pin that intrigued not only myself but my hubby!

My original pin is here but when you click on the picture it doesn’t take you to a recipe. Under the picture was the recipe so I went to my trusty Google and searched for the original recipe. There were a few recipes there but I copied one and will post from that specific recipe.

My Kitchen Escapades called this recipe Parmesan Chicken Bake and you can find her recipe here.

Parmesan Chicken Bake
(adapted from Food.com)
6 chicken breasts
1 C light mayonnaise or greek yogurt (I have done 1/2 of each as well)
1/2 c fresh parmesan cheese, plus more for the top
1 1/2 tsp seasoning salt
1/2 tsp pepper
1 tsp garlic powder

1.  Preheat oven to 375 degrees and spray the inside of a 9×13 glass pan.  Lay the chicken inside the pan.
2.  Mix together the remaining ingredients and spread evenly over each piece of chicken, being sure to cover all the exposed raw meat (so it doesn’t dry out.)  Sprinkle on a bit more fresh parmesan over all the chicken.
3.  Bake uncovered for 45 minutes.  This dish is even better the next day, so just reheat in the microwave!

Here is how I did it!
Combine 1/2c.freshly shredded parmesan cheese (not pictured), 1 c. Greek yogurt, 1 tsp. garlic powder, 1 1/2 tsp. seasoning salt, and 1/2 tsp. pepper.

Your mixture should look like this!
Using a spatula I covered the chicken completely (bottom, top and sides). I cut two chicken breasts in half for a fast cooking time.

I baked the chicken at 375 for around 20/25 minutes until the chicken spread was browning.

The pan was MESSY! Thankfully Ben anticipated this and put down parchment paper before I put the chicken down. After lifting up the parchment paper, the pan was clean!

Our thoughts:

We usually split a chicken breast to reduce our meat intake. Needless to say… there are no leftovers. The combination of ingredients was unique for us and we enjoyed the flavor. The recipe I pinned on Pinterest said “Melt In Your Mouth Chicken.” We didn’t agree with that statement and the yogurt didn’t prevent the chicken from drying out but we did love the unique flavor. We usually have these ingredients on hand so it was a fun way to integrate yogurt into dinner. We will be doing this one again!

One thought on “Pinterest Challenge

Leave a Reply

