Homemade Body Scrub

On my quest to slowly move towards “green” living I decided to make my own body scrub. I was buying it but discovered making it was really easy and much cheaper.

Here is what you need:

* small container

* Vanilla extract (Ben made ours)

* sugar

* Coconut Oil

* Lavender

Lavender Vanilla Body Scrub

(with vague instructions, this doesn’t need to be perfect!)

1. Fill the container 3/4 full with sugar.

2. Put in a teaspoon of vanilla extract and lavender.

3. Mix in enough coconut oil to wet the sugar.

4. Put the container in the shower and use it to shave your legs, moisturize your body and exfoliate your skin! I absolutely love this stuff!

*Note* Depending on temperature the coconut oil may turn into a solid or liquid altering the look of your scrub.

I alter this recipe depending on what I am feeling at the moment. You see some ground coffee in the above pictures from a previous batch I made, a Vanilla Latte scrub.

This would make a unique Christmas gift!

Enjoy!

2 thoughts on “Homemade Body Scrub

  1. I love this. Thanks for sharing your recipe! I see a million on pinterest but it’s always nice to have one that “tried and true” 🙂 The vanilla latte one sounds wonderful, I’m assuming for the vanilla you guys just did the vanilla beans and vodka? We really need to have a “pinterest day” sometime soon, take a whole Saturday to get our craft on 🙂

    • The vanilla latte one was wonderful. The coffee aroma was a great start to my day. The only thing I did differently was I didn’t add the lavender and put in a few teaspoons of ground coffee instead. So fun! Ben uses vanilla beans occasionally for his brews and he just sticks them into a jar of vodka after he scrapes out the beans. The first ones sat for a few months before we used it and now I use it all the time for baking!

Leave a Reply

